Next Induction Class Set

2018 Hall of Fame Class Set

Nash, Kidd, Hill to Headline 2018 Basketball Hall of Fame Class

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has a new induction class.

According to reports from ESPN, the 2018 Basketball Hall of Fame class will be headlined by former superstars Steve Nash, Jason Kidd, and Grant Hill. They will be enshrined at the Hall’s annual ceremony, on Sept. 7.

Other inductees include former 76ers defensive standout Maurice Cheeks, longtime college coach Charles “Lefty Driesell”, and analyst Doris Burke in the broadcast media category.

We would like to congratulate this year’s inductees for their great accomplishments. However, one notable snub sticks out like a sore thumb. Perplexingly, Ray Allen appears to have been left out of this year’s class. This is not to lessen the accomplishments of Nash, a two-time MVP and leader of Phoenix’s vaunted “7 Seconds or Less” offence that has arguably revolutionized the league. Nor do we mean to discount fellow point guard Kidd, a triple-double machine who led a team, whose next best players were Kenyon Martin, Richard Jefferson and Kerry Kittles, to back-to-back Finals appearances. Hill has probably earned his place too, as another all-around great who was one of the game’s best before injuries sidetracked him. The other inductees deserve to be recognized as well. However, do you mean to tell me that Allen, a 10-time All-Star, NBA champion, and most notably, the league’s all-time 3-point leader, is not worthy of induction? Something seems fishy. Perhaps Allen, whose rocky relationship with his former Celtics teammates is well-documented, has rubbed some on the selection committee the wrong way. We might never know.

Other finalists who were left out this year include former Sacramento Kings star Chris Webber, and 2-time NBA champion head coach Rudy Tomjanovich. They, along with others such as Chauncey Billups, Ben Wallace, Jack Sikma and Allen, will have to wait till next year.

Looking ahead, the aforementioned snubs might have to wait a while. Thanks to a new rule shortening the Hall’s waiting period, Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan, and Kevin Garnett will all be eligible next year. All are considered sure-fire locks for induction.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Early Return for KD?

22 Sep 2019

Caught By Surprise

21 Sep 2019

Revising the Rules

20 Sep 2019

Additional Setback

19 Sep 2019

  • Raptors’ Corner

  • Video Highlights

  • Facebook

  • Top Internet Presence the

  • Twitter

  • Pick N Pod

  • Shop

  • Featured Video

    Oops, something went wrong.


    Predicting Tokyo 2020
    21 Sep 20190 comments
    Play Your First Ball
    13 Sep 20190 comments
    A WNBA First
    10 Sep 20190 comments


    Read all tweets

    © 2016 BallnRoll

    Web Solutions by: CO4 Computing Inc